ALA CFP: Come present with the AALCS in Boston!

African American Literature and Culture Society Call for Papers

American Literature Association

34th Annual Conference

May 25-28, 2023

The Westin Copley Place
10 Huntington Ave
Boston, MA 02116

The African American Literature and Culture Society invites abstracts (of no more than 250 words) for presentations at the annual conference of the American Literature Association ( We will also consider a limited number of panel proposals (of no more than 500 words).  

This year, we are soliciting works that engage with rhetorics of resistance in African American literature. Inspired by the conference location, Boston, we encourage the submission of papers on revolution, protest literature, and acts of citizenship in Black writing. 

Possible paper topics include, but are not limited to:

-Revolutionary literature 

-Conceptions of citizenship in African American writing

-Protest literature 

-Black literature and American identity 

While we welcome papers on the above themes and subthemes, we also strongly encourage submissions on any topic related to African American literature and culture

Submission Information:

Please send abstracts or proposals to Rachel Carr ( and Jean-Philippe Marcoux ( no later than January 15, 2023. Include your name and email with the abstract. Presenters must be members of AALCS by the time of the conference. Information about the Society and how to join can be found at the AALCS website:



The African American Literature and Culture Society is proud to announce the recipients of the Stephen E. Henderson Award for Outstanding Achievement in Poetry, the Darwin T. Turner Award for Excellence in Scholarship in African American Culture and Literature, and the Octavia E. Butler Award in Memory of Consuela Francis for the year 2022.

Tyrone Williams, our Henderson Award recipient, is an extraordinary and prolific writer. He has authored a number of chapbooks, including Convalescence (1987), Futures, Elections (2004), Musique Noir (2006), and Pink Tie (2011), among others. His full-length collections of poetry include c.c. (2002), On Spec (2008), The Hero Project (2009), Adventures of Pi (2011), and Howell (2011). In 2017, Williams won the Baltic Writing Residences Europe & North America. In 2019, Williams co-edited the anthology Inciting Poetics. He is a Professor in the Department of English at Xavier University in Cincinnati.

Ivy Wilson, our Turner Award recipient, is an Associate Professor of English at Northwestern University. He is the author of Specters of Democracy: Blackness and the Aesthetics of Politics in the Antebellum U.S. He is also the editor of a number of books, including Whitman Noir: Black America and the Good Gray Poet and At the Dusk of Dawn: Selected Poetry and Prose of Albery Allson Whitman. His work is published in ESQ, Arizona Quarterly, and PMLA.

Madhu Dubey, our Butler Award recipient, is a Professor of English and African American Studies at the University of Illinois Chicago. She is the author of Black Women Novelists and the Nationalist Aesthetic and Signs and Cities: Black Literary Postmodernism. Her work is regularly published in Novel, Twentieth-Century Literature, and African American Review, among others. Dubey has also contributed to numerous edited collections.

Award recipients were recognized and honored during the AALCS Reception and Reading held at the American Literature Association 33rd Annual Conference (The Palmer House Hilton, Chicago, IL) on Friday, May 27, 2022. The reception featured readings from Tyrone Williams’s work.