Awards Recipients

The Stephen Henderson Award recognizes authors for outstanding achievement in literature and poetry.

Recipients of the Stephen Henderson Award

1995: Sam Cornish

1996: Quincy Troupe

1997: E. Ethelbert Miller

1998: Sherley Anne Williams

2002: Clarence Major

2003: Askia Touré

2004: Charles Johnson

2006: Al Young

2007: Marilyn Nelson

2008: Nathaniel Mackey

2009: Elizabeth Alexander

2010: Cecil Giscombe

2011:Ed Roberson

2012: Harryette Mullen

2013: Michael S. Harper

2014: Marita Golden

2015: Evie Shockley

2016: Fred Moten

2017: Jamaica Kincaid

2018: Giovanni Singleton

2019: John Edgar Wideman


The Darwin T. Turner Award celebrates excellence in scholarship in African American culture and literature.

Recipients of the Darwin T. Turner Award

2000:  Jerry W. Ward, Jr.

2005: Maryemma Graham

2009: Loretta Woodard

2014: Howard Dodson

2015: Aldon L. Nielsen

2016: Richard Yarborough

2017: Henry Louis Gates Jr.

2018: Michele Elam

2019: Keith Byerman

2020: Frances Smith Foster

The Octavia E. Butler Award in memory of Conseula Francis recognizes outstanding contributions to African American literary scholarship made by a woman of color.

Recipients of the Octavia E. Butler Award in memory of Conseula Francis

2017: Cheryl A. Wall